A writer for the Wyoming Tribune-Eagle believes that the state should institute a primary seat belt law and raise the fine for violators. The reason why is that according to a Governors Highway Safety Report, although seat belt use in the U.S. is at 86 percent, it drops to 76 percent in states that do not have primary seat belt laws, such as Wyoming.
Wyoming does have a seat belt law, but it is what is called a secondary seat belt law. A secondary seat belt law only allows an officer to issue a ticket to a motorist for a seat belt violation if they have already stopped them for another traffic offense. A primary seat belt law allows an officer to cite a motorist for a seat belt violation without any other traffic violation occurring.
The writer makes some valid points. Wearing a seat belt lowers a person’s chances of dying in a vehicle accident by 45 percent, and last year, of the people killed in accidents on state highways, 55 percent were not wearing seat belts.
However, as long as officers can’t pullover motorists solely for seat belt violations or when they are able to cite the motorists for seat belt violations, have the fines be more imposing than $25 for drivers and $10 for passengers if it’s their first offense, the writer believes Wyoming motorists will never respect the seat belt law.
Wearing a seat belt won’t prevent a motorist from being involved in a car accident, but many times it can help prevent a car accident from becoming a fatal car accident. If you or someone you love suffered injuries in a car accident caused by a negligent driver, you may be owed compensation. For a free consultation, call our national accident lawyer today at (866) 377-3800.
[Tom’s Tips: Kids wear seat belts when they see adults wear seat belts. So be a good example and buckle up for every ride.]
Metier Law Firm, LLC – Injury Attorneys Serving Clients Nationwide