Colorado Motorcycle Laws

We get many questions about Colorado’s motorcycle laws, such as:

  • Do I need to wear a helmet?
  • Do I need to pass a motorcycle safety course to ride?
  • Can motorcycles share a lane?

In response, here are the Colorado motorcycle laws you need to know:

  • Helmets are not required (unless the rider or passenger is under 18).
  • Goggles, glasses or eye protection is mandatory (unless offroading)
  • Riders do not need to a certificate from a training course. Riders can obtain a Colorado motorcycle endorsement by going through the Motorcycle Safety Foundation training program or pass a series of tests at the Driver’s License Office.
  • Riders cannot ride between lanes (lane splitting)
  • Two riders can share a lane
  • Motorcycles must be outfitted with a seat and footrests when carrying a passenger
  • Motorcycles must have at least one rearview mirror and a muffler
  • Motorcyclists must carry insurance that includes:
    • Bodily injury coverage (at least $25,000 per injured person, and $50,000 for everybody injured in a motorcycle accident)
    • Property damage (at least $15,000)
  • Noise levels depend on when the motorcycle was built:
    • If built between July 1, 1971 and January 1, 1973, it must not exceed 88 decibels from 50 feet away
    • If built after January 1, 1973, it must not exceed 86 decibels from 50 feet away

If you still have questions about Colorado motorcycle laws, feel free to contact us.

The Metier Law Firm, LLCDenver accident attorneys