Colorado legislation regulating the recreational use of marijuana, including driving-under-the-influence limits for motorists, took effect when Governor John Hickenlooper signed the measures into law on May 28, according to Reuters. These new laws set a 15 percent excise tax and an additional 10 percent sales tax on marijuana sales, set blood limits for driving while under the influence at five nanograms per milliliter and limit marijuana purchases by non-Colorado residents to one-quarter of an ounce.
“Equipping law enforcement with the tools they need to ensure people make safe decisions behind the wheel is critical to maximizing public safety,” said House Republican leader Mark Waller, who sponsored the driving-under-the-influence legislation.
The new law has its detractors as well. Critics of the law say that a blood test is too intrusive and that the five nanogram limit is too low, because medical marijuana users always have some THC—the active ingredient in marijuana measured by the blood test—in their blood, according to The Partnership at Drugfree.org.
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is dangerous, whether you’re over the limit or not. Car accidents happen even when you’re fully alert, so adding any kind of impairment to the equation can easily lead to a wreck. If you were the victim of a car accident or someone you love was the victim of a fatal car accident caused by someone driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may be owed compensation. Contact our national accident lawyer for a free consultation today at (866) 377-3800.
Metier Law Firm, LLC – Injury Attorneys Serving Clients Nationwide