According to Denver 7 News, strict new drunk driving legislation will take effect come the new year and, hopefully, will promote safer roadways. Once the new law is in effect, drivers who refuse a breathalyzer or blood test will be deemed “persistent drunk driver[s].” Currently, a driver must have minimum blood alcohol content (BAC) of .17 to be labeled a persistent drunk driver. Under the new law, a persistent drunk driver only needs a BAC of .15.
The consequence for persistent drunk drivers is a one year suspension of their driver’s license. If, for work or other practical concerns, the individual needs their license back within the year, they must install a breathalyzer that only lets the driver start the car if they blow clean. According to the Colorado Mothers Against Drunk Driving, 30 percent of the 25,000 DUI arrests in 2012 involved drivers who refused a breathalyzer or blood test. Furthermore, 54 percent of Colorado drivers involved in fatal car accidents met the new minimum BAC for a persistent drunk driver, according to a 2012 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration study.
I Was Hit By A Drunk Driver And I Need A Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been injured by a drunk driver, we can help. Our attorneys work hand in hand with accident reconstruction experts and forensic scientists to review the details of the car accident and determine liability. Furthermore, we will not simply settle with the guilty driver’s car insurance provider; instead, we will go above and beyond in the courtroom to ensure that you receive full compensation for your physical, emotional and financial hardships. For more information or free legal advice, contact us. To schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our national accident lawyers, call today at (866) 377-3800.
[Did You Know: Alcohol and aggressive lane violations were the two leading causes of fatal car accidents in Colorado in 2008.]
Metier Law Firm, LLC – Injury Attorneys Serving Clients Nationwide