Colorado law enforcement officials have warned parents that the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day are the “100 deadliest days for teen drivers”. According to Colorado State Patrol, during the same 100 days in 2012, there were 500 fatal car accidents involving teenage drivers across the country.
Research from the American Automobile Association (AAA) has found that on average, there is a 26 percent increase in fatal car accidents involving teenage drivers during the “deadliest 100 days”. Additional research from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety argues distracted driving is responsible for six in ten severe car accidents involving teenagers.
Fortunately, Colorado laws help teenage drivers avoid distracted driving accidents. For example, Colorado uses a “graduated driver’s license”, which includes restrictions on teenage drivers such as limiting the number of passengers.
In addition to restrictions on the number of passengers, teenage drivers in Colorado also have driving curfews and are not allowed to use either hands-free or handheld mobile phones behind the wheel.
Can Parents Help Their Children Avoid Distracted Driving?
There are several ways parents can help their children understand the dangers of distracted driving. By keeping mobile phones in the glove compartment, parents can set a positive example for teenage drivers in the family.
Parents can also educate their children on safe driving practices and make a “family pledge” to avoid activities such as texting and driving.
Car accidents cause more than property damage for survivors. In many cases, car accident survivors suffer catastrophic injuries, requiring extensive rehabilitation. Motorists hurt by distracted drivers could contact an attorney and possibly sue for damages.
Metier Law Firm – Injury Attorneys Serving Clients Nationwide